Skip Navigation

Kenneth W. Dion, PhD, MSN, MBA

Assistant Dean
Assistant Dean for Business Innovation and Strategic Relationships
Kenneth Dion
View Full CV

Specialties and Expertise

  • Administration/Health Systems Mngmt
  • Business
  • Electronic Medical Records
  • Informatics


Kenneth Dion, PhD, MSN, MBA, is a 40-year veteran of the healthcare industry. The nurse entrepreneur, inventor, and scholar brings non-traditional and highly value-added expertise to identifying and advancing business opportunities within nursing locally, nationally, and internationally. In 1999, Dr. Dion founded Decision Critical, Inc., a cloud-based start-up information systems company, to meet the education, compliance, and competency development needs of health care organizations. He was awarded a patent for Critical Portfolio, a first-of-its-kind ePortfolio application, and Critical Staffer, a reverse staffing system. In 2012, Decision Critical was acquired by HealthStream, Inc., where Dr. Dion served as vice president and chief of nursing informatics. He later founded TurnPath, LLC, a healthcare technology incubator. Dr. Dion is active in a number of nursing professional organizations, including longtime support and service to Sigma Theta Tau International at a variety of levels and in many capacities. He is a Virginia Henderson, Billye Brown, and Sigma Theta Tau Fellow, and is currently treasurer on the International Board of Directors. He earned his bachelor’s degree in nursing at the University of Central Florida and his MBA, MSN, and a doctorate in nursing systems at the University of Texas at Austin.