Home / Faculty & Research / Meet Our Faculty / Endowed Chairs in Nursing and Bloomberg Distinguished Professors

Endowed Chairs in Nursing and Bloomberg Distinguished Professors

Endowed Chairs

Anna D. Wolf Professorship

Given in 1993 by scores of nursing alumnae, family, and friends united by their admiration for Anna D. Wolf, Class of 1915, Director of the Johns Hopkins Hospital School of Nursing and the Nursing Service, 1940 to 1955.

Current Chair:  Robert (Bob) Atkins, PhD, RN, FAAN

Anne and George L. Bunting Professorship in Clinical Ethics

Given in 2013 by Anne and George Bunting, to confirm the interprofessional role of nursing and bioethics. As steadfast partners to Johns Hopkins University and The Johns Hopkins Hospital, Mr. and Mrs. Bunting endowed this professorship, shared by the Berman Institute of Bioethics and the School of Nursing, to address the ethical challenges of clinical care from the nursing perspective.

Current Chair:  Cynda H. Rushton, PhD, RN, FAAN

Elsie M. Lawler Chair

Given in 1988 by Caroline Pennington, Class of 1918, to honor Elsie M. Lawler, Class of 1899, Superintendent of Nurses and Principal of the Training School from 1910 to 1940.

Current Chair:  Hae-Ra Han, PhD, MSN, RN

The Endowed Professorship of Disability Health and Justice

Today, more than 27 percent of American adults have a disability, and yet people with disabilities still face barriers to health, equity, and inclusion. The Endowed Professorship of Disability Health and Justice was established to push scientific discovery and develop innovative, evidence-based strategies to foster inclusion of people with disabilities into the workforce.

Current Chair: Bonnielin Swenor, PHD, MPH

Independence Foundation Chair in Nursing Education

Given in 1989 by the Independence Foundation of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. This endowment was part of an extraordinary gift from the Foundation for an academic chair at each of nine private schools of nursing.

Current Chair:  Nancy Glass, PhD, MPH, RN, FAAN

Katey Ayers Endowed Professorship

Given in 2020 by Katey Ayers, Class of 1967, and matched by the Maryland E-Nnovation Initiative Fund. The endowed professorship tackles the complex intersection of housing and social services and their impact on health.

Current Chair: Craig Pollack, MD, MHS

Leadership and Innovation Endowed Chair

Given in 2021 by an anonymous donor. This endowment supports the School of Nursing’s Diversity Signature Initiative to recognize exemplary nurse scholars from racial, ethnic, and gender minority groups, bolster a diverse workforce, and improve health outcomes among underrepresented communities and populations.

Current Chair: Jason Farley, PhD, MPH, RN, FAAN

Leonard and Helen R. Stulman Professorship in Mental Health and Psychiatric Nursing

Given in 2003 by the Leonard and Helen R. Stulman Charitable Foundation. The Stulman Professor holds joint appointments on the faculty of the Johns Hopkins School of Nursing and the School of Medicine Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences.

Current Chair:  Deborah Gross, DNSc, RN, FAAN

M. Adelaide Nutting Chair

Given in 1984 by the Johns Hopkins Nurses’ Alumni Association at the dedication of the Johns Hopkins School of Nursing. M. Adelaide Nutting, Class of 1891, was Superintendent of Nursing and Principal of the Training School from 1895 to 1907. In 1914, Miss Nutting urged alumnae to raise funds to secure the School’s future; the Nutting Chair is the result of their labor.

Current Chair: 

Patricia M. Davidson Professorship for Health Equity and Social Justice

Established and funded in 2018 by Susan Matthews Epstein, JD, a 1966 graduate of the Johns Hopkins School of Nursing and a lifelong advocate for access to health care for underserved children and adults. This endowed professorship furthers her belief that nursing education should promote the importance of nurses as leaders in the quest for health equity and social justice for all.

Current Chair: Sarah L. Szanton, PhD, RN, FAAN

Sarah E. Allison Professorship For Research And Self-Care

Given in 2018 by the estate of Sarah E. Allison, Class of 1953, an innovator who devoted her life and career to furthering Dorothea Orem’s Self-Care Deficit Theory that we could match better patient self-care with nursing support to maximize healing.

Current Chair:  Cheryl Dennison Himmelfarb, PhD, RN, ANP, FAAN

Bloomberg Distinguished Professor

The Bloomberg Distinguished Professorships program seeks to build a cadre of 50 world-class faculty members whose excellence in research, teaching, and service centers on interdisciplinary scholarship. They are supported by a $350 million gift to the university by Johns Hopkins alumnus, philanthropist, and former New York City Mayor Michael R. Bloomberg.

Learn More

Bloomberg Distinguished Professor for Diabetes

A world-renowned physician-scientist, Rexford Ahima is known for uncovering connections between diabetes and obesity. As the leader of the Johns Hopkins Diabetes Initiative, Ahima strives to apply his crosscutting expertise from basic and translational research to the clinic, advancing the care and treatment of diabetes patients.

Rexford Ahima, MD, PhD

Bloomberg Distinguished Professor for Equity in Health and Healthcare

Lisa Cooper is an international thought leader on addressing health disparities through her research on the ways race and socioeconomic factors shape patient care, and the ways patients and health systems, in partnership with communities, can improve outcomes for at-risk populations.

Lisa A. Cooper, MD, MPH

Bloomberg Distinguished Professor for Health Informatics

Christopher Chute is a physician-scientist and biomedical informatician who works to ensure that clinical data is represented in a comparable and consistent manner to improve medical practice. He pioneered the use of electronic medical records in genetic research and is widely known for standardizing biomedical terminologies and health information technology standards.

Christopher G. Chute, MD, DrPH, MPH

Bloomberg Distinguished Professor for Health Systems, Quality And Safety

Kathryn McDonald is an international thought leader who focuses on bringing an evidence-based, patient-centered approach to the study of health care delivery. She explores what makes for safe, affordable, and high-quality health care delivery systems and the factors that prevent health organizations from achieving this standard of care.

Kathryn McDonald, PhD, MM

Bloomberg Distinguished Professor of Primary Care

Eliana Perrin, a nationally recognized leader in patient-oriented primary care, childhood obesity, and health disparities research, is a Bloomberg Distinguished Professor with appointments at the Johns Hopkins Schools of Nursing and Medicine (Department of Pediatrics). Dr. Perrin has developed, tested, and disseminated many tools to help pediatricians prevent and treat obesity.

Eliana Perrin, MD, MPH, BA

Bloomberg Distinguished Professor of Trauma Recovery Biomarkers

Jessica Gill is a national leader in research on the biological mechanisms of traumatic brain injuries (TBI). She has spent decades investigating differential responses in military personnel, athletes, and other patients that have experienced TBIs and the mechanisms underlying these divergent responses.

Jessica Gill, PhD, RN, FAAN