Skip Navigation

Honor Society of Nursing

STTI Nu Beta Lamp Lighting Ceremony Candles

Nu Beta is a chartered chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI), Honor Society of Nursing, and was established at Johns Hopkins School of Nursing in 1992. The purposes of Sigma Theta Tau are to recognize superior achievement and the development of leadership capabilities, foster high professional standards, encourage creative work, and strengthen commitment to the ideals and purposes of the profession of nursing.  


Through its members, the honor society strives to improve the health of the world's people.


Sigma Theta Tau was founded in 1922 by six nursing students at Indiana University. In 1936, Sigma Theta Tau became the first organization in the United States to fund nursing research. The society was incorporated in 1985 as Sigma Theta Tau International, Inc., to support and connect the global community of nursing scholars who enhance healthcare worldwide. More than 300,000 nurse scholars have been inducted into Sigma Theta Tau. It is the second largest nursing organization in the world. Members are active in more than 90 countries and territories, and the 424 chapters are located in 523 college and university campuses in the United States and countries including Canada, Hong Kong, Pakistan, South Korea, Australia, Taiwan, the Netherlands, and Brazil. Membership is by invitation to baccalaureate and graduate nursing students who demonstrate excellence in scholarship and to nurse leaders exhibiting exceptional achievements in nursing.

Additional Nu Beta Information

  • Membership
    Students are invited to join through STTI chapters located at more than 650 colleges and universities around the world.  Nursing professionals not previously inducted as nursing students can also join STTI as a Nurse Leader. 

    Cost & Criteria
  • Induction
    Induction into the honor society occurs yearly. Eligibility requirements are established by Sigma Theta Tau International.
  • Announcements
    Congratulations to Minhui Liu, a postdoctoral fellow in the Johns Hopkins School of Nursing, who has received funding for a pilot randomized controlled trial. The study will be built upon the multi-component fall prevention program for older adults—LIVE-LiFE—developed by Dr. Sarah Szanton. Through the new study, student nurses will be trained to deliver the intervention and test it in community-dwelling older adults in China, where evidence-based fall prevention programs and professional interventionists are lacking.
  • Chapter Officers
    Nu Beta at-Large Chapter Officers 2020
    • President –Vinciya Pandian
    • President-Elect – Nancy Goldstein
    • Vice President for Academia – Kenneth Dion
    • Vice President for Practice –  Miki Goodwin
    • Treasurer –  Katrina Bezak
    • Associate Treasurer – Christina Feindt
    • Secretary –  Binu Koirala
    • Counselor – Academia, Gloria Ramsey
    • Counselor – Academia, Cynthia Carbo
    • Counselor – Practice
      1. 1. Johns Hopkins Hospital- Deborah Baker
      2. 2. JH Bayview- Maria Koszalka
      3. 3. JH Howard County  General Hospital –Jennifer Baldwin
      4. 4. JH Suburban Hospital- LeighAnn Sidone
      5. 5. JH Sibley Memorial Hospital- Laura Hendricks Jackson
      6. 6. JH All Children’s Hospital- Melissa Macogay
    • Leadership Succession Committee 
    • Leadership Succession Committee/Chair – Tamar Rodney
    • Leadership Succession Committee –
      • Brigit VanGraafeiland
      • Sharon Kozachik
      • Susan Giscombe
    • Governance Committee/Chair– Nancy Goldstein
      • Elizabeth (Betsy) Harlow Hassan
      • Eyerusalem Hagos
      • Ruth-Alma Turkson- Okran
    • Convention Delegate 1: Miki Goodwin
    • Convention Delegate 2: Vinciya Pandian
    • Philanthropy Chair: Akudo Anyanwu, Chair
      • Derek Dangerfield
      • Erin Wright
      • Jeffrey Vu
      • Kelli DePriest
      • Nicollete Hooge
    • Membership Involvement Chairs: Nada Lukkahatai
      • Membership Involvement Committee Members:
        • Chao Hsing Yeh
        • Deborah Baker
        • Maren Reinholdt
        • Martha Awoke
        • Michael Sanchez
        • Vanessa Battista
    • Membership Ambassador- Maren Reinholdt
    • Research Chair- Kelly Gleason
      • Research Committee:
        • Janiece Taylor
        • Kristen Brown
        • Melissa deCardi Hladek
        • Nancy Gentry-Russell
        • Sandra Panchalingam
        • Sarah Allgood
    • Awards Committee: (International Awards) Adam Beaman, Diana Baptiste, Susan Giscombe, Martha Awoke, Kenneth Dion
    • Publicity/Newsletter Chair: Catherine Ling
      • Publicity/Newsletter Committee Members:
        • JH Pulse Blog and SON Vitals: Sydnee Logan
        • Nu Beta Newsletter:
          • Jennifer Milesky
          • Joycelyn Cudjoe
          • Junxin Li
          • Sarah Boisen
        • Social Media: Diana Baptiste

    Positions Descriptions

  • Partnership with Practice Settings
    The Nu Beta Chapter has successfully added all six Johns Hopkins Hospitals to the Nu Beta charter. We will be the first chapter-at-large to add an entire health system. This is an exciting time for our chapter, Johns Hopkins School of Nursing, and the Johns Hopkins Health System!

    Benefits of being a chapter-at-large:

    • Improves collaboration between the JHSON community and  Johns Hopkins Hospital’s nurse leaders
    • Helps foster greater collaboration in research, scholarship, and community service
    • Increases the visibility of STTI in the workplace
    • Promotes engagement, satisfaction, and retention of clinical nurses
    • Formalizes an already existing partnership between the JHSON and Johns Hopkins Health System

    The six practice settings part of Nu-Beta Chapter:

Social Media

Follow the Nu Beta at-Large Chapter on Twitter and Facebook.