Home / Hopkins Nursing News / News / Teaching and Deans Awards Recipients Named

Teaching and Deans Awards Recipients Named


News Release index

Posted: 5/14/2007

At a school-wide award ceremony on May 2, 2007 faculty members Janice Hoffman and Cynda Rushton were named the 2007 recipients of the Johns Hopkins University Alumni Association Excellence in Teaching Awards.  The awards, which have been given annually since 1992, reward faculty members who stand out in their role as both teacher and mentor to students. 

Staff members Marie Davidson, Jackie Oliver, Amanda Pflaumer, John Shearin, and Jennifer Calhoun also were recognized for achievement as recipients of the SON Dean’s Awards.  These awards, a program initiated by SON Dean Martha N. Hill, PhD, RN, FAAN, are given to outstanding employees who exemplify the schools values and set a standard of excellence in the workplace. 

Janice Hoffman, PhD, RN, who received the Baccalaureate Excellence in Teaching Award, is the ultimate teacher, according to students who nominated her.  Her achievement stems from her devotion to nursing education, which is the focus of her research and her area of nursing expertise.  Students are drawn not only to Hoffmans deep knowledge of the subject matter and her skill at teachingthey are also impressed with her devotion to her students.  Says one nominator: She is more than a teachershe is a mentor, a counselor, and a friend.

Associate professor Cynda Rushton, PhD, RN, FAAN received the Graduate Excellence in Teaching Award.  A nationally recognized expert in bioethics and palliative care, Rushton teaches graduate students how to deal with the unique ethical issues that arise in nursing practice.  She makes her classes very experiential, encouraging students to facilitate dialogue analyzing ethical dilemmas.  Her classes on nursing ethics often made me see the case in another light, says a graduate student nominator.  She is enthusiastic about the field of ethics and that shows to the students. 

Deans award winner Jennifer Calhoun, Director of Strategic Initiatives, strives for excellence in all her work and has a unique ability to capitalize on the strengths that arise from our diversity in such a way that people bring their best to a project.

Nominators noted that Marie Davidson, Administrative Secretary, makes life at the school much easier for students and colleagues through her cheerful attitude, willingness to help, and utmost respect for others.  According to one colleague: Marie is a pleasure to see each and every day.

Jackie Oliver, Senior Academic Program Coordinator, was chosen for her deep commitment to the success of the school and her honest and forthright contributions in implementing the schools new departmental structure.  She has handled all the transition with grace and a focus on doing the best work she can, said her nominators.

Amanda Pflaumer, Senior Systems Analyst, respects the work of the offices she supports and is accountable for her role in their success.  She was nominated for her commitment to success of the school and her readiness to tackle any request for technical assistance.

John Shearin, Office Assistant for Special Events/AV, is exemplary in every way in meeting and exceeding our core values.  His selfless service to others goes above and beyond his job description, as he will often come to the rescue and act as if he didn’t do anything at all!  

Dean Martha N. Hill, PhD, RN, FAAN presented the awards, noting that each award winner exemplifies the schools values of responsibility, excellence, accountability, diversity, and integrity.  The School of Nursing is most appreciative of not only what they do, but how they do it.  We are proud to have them as part of our school.