Home / Hopkins Nursing News / News / Sigma Theta Tau to Honor School of Nursing Dean

Sigma Theta Tau to Honor School of Nursing Dean


News Release index | News Archive

Posted: 4/3/2003

Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI), the honor society of nursing, selected Martha N. Hill, PhD, RN, dean of The Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing, for one of its most prestigious awards.

The Nell J. Watts Lifetime Achievement in Nursing Award, named in honor of a former STTI executive officer, is given every other year to an active STTI member who has demonstrated achievement in nursing spanning a lifetime career, has contributed to nursing in a manner that has long-term significance, and is nationally and/or internationally recognized.

“Dr. Hill exemplifies all the qualities that make the profession of nursing an honorable one,” says STTI board member Fannie Gaston-Johansson, DrMedSc, RN, professor, director of International Nursing, and director of the Center for Health Disparities Research at the Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing. “She understands the importance of research and outcomes data, but has never lost sight of the fact that every patient deserves quality health care.”

STTI board member Peter Buerhaus, PhD, RN, senior associate dean for research and Valere Potter Professor of Nursing at the Vanderbilt University School of Nursing, considers Dr. Hill a “shining gem” in the world of nursing research. “Her scholarly contributions, extraordinary leadership at a major university, and her recognition by organizations and researchers inside and outside nursing combine to make her a most deserving recipient of this lifetime achievement award,” he says. “This is a wonderful way to recognize an individual who has done so much for the nursing profession and done so much to improve the health and quality of life for so many people.

Sigma Theta Tau, founded in 1922, provides leadership and scholarship in practice, education, and research to enhance the health of all people. It was the first organization in the U.S. to fund nursing research. Today, more than 300,000 nurse scholars from 90 countries have been inducted into the society.


For media inquiries contact Ming Tai at [email protected] or 410-614-5317.