Home / Hopkins Nursing News / News / Breast Cancer Director Shockney Is Commencement Speaker

Breast Cancer Director Shockney Is Commencement Speaker


News Release index

Posted: 6/27/2008

Lillie D. Shockney, MAS, BS, RN, a University Distinguished Service Assistant Professor of Breast Cancer and Administrative Director of Johns Hopkins Avon Foundation Breast Center is this year’s commencement speaker for the Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing accelerated class of 2008. The graduation ceremony will be held on the Johns Hopkins Homewood campus on July 18 at Shriver Hall.

“We are delighted that Lillie Shockney is addressing our graduating nursing leaders,” said Mary ORourke, JHUSON Director of Admissions and Student Services. “She is an outstanding nurse leader, mentor, champion, and hero for womens’ health.” 

Since 1997, Shockney, a two-time breast cancer survivor, has served as administrative director of the Breast Center. In 2008 she was appointed as a University Distinguished Service Assistant Professor in the School of Medicine, an award given by the Dean of School of Medicine, President of the University, and Board of Trustees.  She is the first hospital nurse to be made a faculty member in surgery and the first nurse to receive a distinguished service title from the university.

Shockney received her RN diploma from MacQueen Gibbs Willis School of Nursing, an undergraduate degree in health care administration from St. Joseph’s College, and a masters degree in administrative science from Johns Hopkins University. She has published six books and more than 50 peer-reviewed articles in medical journals. Today, when a new patient at the Breast Center arrives, it is Shockneys book, Journey of Hope, they receive.

She has won more than two dozen awards for her work from national organizations, including Susan G. Komen for the Cure. In 2004, Shockney was a finalist of the Lance Armstrong Foundations Spirit of Survivorship Carpe Diem Award and was named by The Daily Record as one of Marylands’ Top 100 Women Leaders. In 2006, she was the recipient of the Avon Foundation’s Spirit of Friends Award and Patient of Courage Award from the American Society of Plastic Surgeons.