Milestone Celebration to Close with SON Health Care Disparities Town Hall


News Release index

Posted: 3/9/2005

The Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing will host a special expert-to-expert town hall on health care disparities on Tuesday, May 3, 2005, from 4:00 to 6:00 p.m. in the Alumni Auditorium. The event is free and open to the public.

“Who Will Care for Us? Who Will Receive Care?” offers a unique opportunity for health care experts and local, state, and federal legislators to share their perspectives on causes, results, and solutions regarding health care disparities.

Sam Donaldson, ABC News Correspondent, will serve as moderator.

Currently scheduled panelists include:

  • Dr. Elias Zerhouni
    Director, National Institutes of Health

  • Dr. Peter Beilenson
    Health Commissioner
    Baltimore City Department of Health

  • The Honorable Shirley Nathan-Pulliam
    Delegate, Maryland General Assembly
    Chair, Minority Health Disparities Subcommittee

  • Dr. Antonia M. Villarruel
    Associate Professor and Director, Center for Health Promotion, University of Michigan
    Vice-President, National Coalition of Ethnic Minority Nursing Association

  • Dr. Lonnie Bristow
    Former President, American Medical Association
    Chair, Institute of Medicine Committee on Institutional and Policy Level Strategies for Increasing Diversity of the US Healthcare Workforce

  • Dr. Leo Nolan
    Senior Policy Analyst – External Affairs for the Office of the Director, Indian Health Service, US Department of Health and Human Services

  • Dr. Lisa Egbuonu-Davis
    Pfizer Scholar-in-Residence, Spelman College, Women’s Research and Resource Center

“Who Will Care for Us? Who Will Receive Care?” marks the closing of the Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing Milestone Celebration.


For media inquiries, contact Ming Tai at [email protected] or 410-614-5317
or Lynn Writsel at
[email protected] or 410-955-7552.