Home / Hopkins Nursing News / News / Jacquelyn Campbell Honored For Diversity

Jacquelyn Campbell Honored For Diversity


News Release index

Posted: 5/6/2003

The Johns Hopkins Diversity Leadership Council recently announced the inaugural recipients of its Diversity Recognition Awards. The award was created to recognize faculty, staff and students whose demonstrable efforts contribute to the celebration of diversity and inclusiveness in the Johns Hopkins culture and environment.

Jacquelyn Campbell, PhD, RN, associate dean for faculty affairs at the Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing, is among the selection of winners that in itself is diverse and includes a medical student, a financial aid director, a librarian, and two department chairs.

Dr. Campbell, an internationally-known expert in the area of domestic violence, was chosen for her tireless efforts to make Johns Hopkins a more diverse institution by serving on committees that address issues of diversity and multiculturalism; recruiting minority faculty, staff, and students; incorporating diversity into her research and research teams; and keeping the issue of diversity alive and at the forefront of conversations she has with colleagues and students.

“Dr. Campbell is relentless in her pursuit of diversity,” says Martha N. Hill, PhD, RN, dean of the School of Nursing. “At every opportunity, she advocates for greater cultural and ethnic diversity throughout Johns Hopkins, whether it is inviting a minority health care provider to write a chapter in a book she is editing, bringing a multicultural flavor to her research by conducting part of it in South Africa, or in reinforcing the importance of cultural issues at meetings she attends. She encourages all of us to see the value of a diverse culture and is a model for us to emulate.”

Other recipients of the First Annual Diversity Recognition Awards are:

  • Mazen Ibrahim Bedri, a medical student at the School of Medicine

  • Victor Corces, chair of the biology department at the School of Arts and Sciences

  • Maria Izquierdo-Whitaker, assistant director of financial aid at School of Professional Studies in Business and Education

  • Sharon Morris, government publications librarian at MSEL

  • Allison Okamura, assistant professor of mechanical engineering at the School of Engineering

  • Chirag B. Patel, a graduate research assistant in biomedical engineering at the School of Engineering

  • Myron Weisfeldt, chair of the department of medicine at the School of Medicine.