78 Hopkins Nurses To Be Inducted into Nursing Honor Society


News Release index

Posted: 5/18/2009

On May 20, 2009, 78 Johns Hopkins University (JHU) nursing students will be inducted into Sigma Theta Tau, the International Honor Society of Nursing.  The ceremony will be held from 4:00 to 6:00 p.m. at Turner Auditorium on the Johns Hopkins Medical Campus in Baltimore, MD and will feature an address by nursing informatics expert Patricia Abbott, PhD, RN, BC, FAAN, FACMI, an Assistant Professor at the JHU School of Nursing.
“It is an honor to join Sigma Theta Tau,” says instructor Cynthia Carbo, MSN, RN,PMHCNS-BC, who serves as faculty counselor of the honor society’s Nu Beta Chapter. “Students are invited to apply for membership based on their academic standing and leadership potential.  We know they will be stellar representatives of our school when they enter the nursing the profession.

Membership to Sigma Theta Tau is by invitation to baccalaureate and graduate nursing students who demonstrate excellence in scholarship, and to nurse leaders exhibiting exceptional achievements in nursing.  This year, 51 baccalaureate students, 18 master’s students, and seven doctoral students from the Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing, as well as two nurse leaders, will be joining the Nu Beta chapter of the honor society.

Nu Beta is a chartered chapter of Sigma Theta Tau, the International Honor Society of Nursing, and was established at the Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing in 1992.  The purposes of Sigma Theta Tau are to recognize superior achievement and the development of leadership capabilities, foster high professional standards, encourage creative work, and strengthen commitment to the ideals and purposes of the profession of nursing.