Skip Navigation

Anna D. Wolf Professorship

Given in 1993 by scores of nursing alumnae, family, and friends united by their admiration for Anna D. Wolf, Class of 1915, Director of the Johns Hopkins Hospital School of Nursing and the Nursing Service, 1940 to 1955.

Current Chair:  Jacquelyn Campbell, PhD, RN, FAAN

Anne and George L. Bunting Professorship in Clinical Ethics

Given in 2013 by Anne and George Bunting, to confirm the interprofessional role of nursing and bioethics. As steadfast partners to Johns Hopkins University and The Johns Hopkins Hospital, Mr. and Mrs. Bunting endowed this professorship, shared by the Berman Institute of Bioethics and the School of Nursing, to address the ethical challenges of clinical care from the nursing perspective.

Current Chair:  Cynda H. Rushton, PhD, RN, FAAN


Given in 2019 by Michael Bloomberg. Bloomberg Distinguished Professors are supported by a $350 million gift by Johns Hopkins alumni, philanthropist and three-term mayor Michael R. Bloomberg.

Current Chair: Kathryn McDonald, PhD, MM

Elsie M. Lawler Chair

Given in 1988 by Caroline Pennington, Class of 1918, to honor Elsie M. Lawler, Class of 1899, Superintendent of Nurses and Principal of the Training School from 1910 to 1940.

Current Chair:  Phyllis Sharps, PhD, RN, FAAN

Health Equity and Social Justice Professorship

Established and funded in 2018 by Susan Matthews Epstein, JD, a 1966 graduate of the Johns Hopkins School of Nursing and a lifelong advocate for access to health care for underserved children and adults. This endowed professorship furthers her belief that nursing education should promote the importance of nurses as leaders in the quest for health equity and social justice for all.

Current Chair: Sarah L. Szanton, PhD, ANP, FAAN

Independence Foundation Chair in Nursing Education

Given in 1989 by the Independence Foundation of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. This endowment was part of an extraordinary gift from the Foundation for an academic chair at each of nine private schools of nursing.

Current Chair:  Nancy Glass, PhD, MPH, RN, FAAN

Katey AyERs Endowed Professorship

Given in 2020 by Katey Ayers, Class of 1967, and matched by the Maryland E-Nnovation Initiative Fund. The endowed professorship tackles the complex intersection of housing and social services and their impact on health.

Current Chair: Craig Pollack, MD, MHS

Leonard and Helen R. Stulman Professorship in Mental Health and Psychiatric Nursing

Given in 2003 by the Leonard and Helen R. Stulman Charitable Foundation. The Stulman Professor holds joint appointments on the faculty of the Johns Hopkins School of Nursing and the School of Medicine Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences.

Current Chair:  Deborah Gross, DNSc, RN, FAAN

M. Adelaide Nutting Chair

Given in 1984 by the Johns Hopkins Nurses’ Alumni Association at the dedication of the Johns Hopkins School of Nursing. M. Adelaide Nutting, Class of 1891, was Superintendent of Nursing and Principal of the Training School from 1895 to 1907. In 1914, Miss Nutting urged alumnae to raise funds to secure the School’s future; the Nutting Chair is the result of their labor.

Current Chair:  Jerilyn Allen, ScD, RN, FAAN


Given in 2018 by the estate of Sarah E. Allison, Class of 1953, an innovator who devoted her life and career to furthering Dorothea Orem’s Self-Care Deficit Theory that we could match better patient self-care with nursing support to maximize healing.

Current Chair:  Cheryl Dennison Himmelfarb, PhD, RN, ANP, FAAN