Excellence in Teaching Award for Dr. Martha Abshire & Dr. Martha Wright

Excellence in Teaching Award for Dr. Martha Abshire & Dr. Martha Wright

Each year the Johns Hopkins Alumni Association’s Excellence in Teaching Award honors faculty members who have consistently demonstrated outstanding teaching skills, including preparation, organization, thoroughness, knowledge of subject, feedback, creativity, and inspiration.  Students vote for faculty members. Recipients receive an award from JHAA and are recognized during a school-wide event.

The Johns Hopkins Alumni Association would like to congratulate and honor the School of Nursing 2020 Excellence in Teaching Award recipients:

Martha A. Abshire, PhD, MS, RN
Assistant Professor

Students reflect, “Dr. Abshire’s passion for nursing and teaching is contagious. Each week, she brings a positive attitude and a strong desire to help us learn. Dr. Abshire is constantly putting her students first in order to provide a meaningful experience at JHSON.”

Rebecca J. Wright, PhD, BSc (Hons), RN
Assistant Professor

One student shared, “Dr. Wright makes every class fun. Even in classes that I would rather not have to sit through, she is always making things exciting and interesting.  She allow me to understand course material thoroughly while also allowing me to take a deep breath. She is great at mentoring and encouraging her students.”

Alumni & Giving at the Johns Hopkins School of Nursing 

Stay Up-To-Date

Get updates on the latest stories, from hot topics, to faculty research, alumni profiles, and more.

Ways to subscribe