2022 Shining Stars

Fall 2022 As Seen in Our Fall 2022 Issue
2022 Shining Stars

Congratulations to the award winners of An Evening With the Stars, recognized at a ceremony in Baltimore on November 10:

Elsie Payton Jarvis Star Nurse Award, established in 2017 to recognize all Johns Hopkins Nurses who demonstrate clinical excellence in their area of nursing to improve the quality of patient care and who have made a significant difference to the profession. 

Deborah Billings, Howard County General Hospital
Katie Bryant, All Children’s Hospital
Jonathan Espenancia, Bayview Medical Center
Christine Fennell, Sibley Memorial Hospital
Eleni Flanagan, Johns Hopkins Hospital
Linda Simpson, Suburban Hospital

Eunice Searles King Student Award, established in 2018 to recognize a current JHSON student who exemplifies leadership within the classroom or in student organizations, participates in community outreach efforts through health care initiatives and exhibits outstanding patient care in clinical rotations. Students must also demonstrate excellence in scholarship and perform significant, meritorious, compassionate service to Hopkins patients, patient families, or the Hopkins community.

Erick Jason Reyno, DNP Psychiatric-Mental Health NP student, Johns Hopkins School of Nursing

Cynthia and Peter Rosenwald Nursing Innovator Award, established in 2016 to recognize nurses for developing implementable and innovative initiatives that improve the quality of patient care and benefit the hospitals across the Johns Hopkins Health System.

Lingerlyn Espenancia, Bayview Medical Center

Cynthia and Peter Rosenwald ICU Nurse Award, recognizing nurses at all Johns Hopkins Hospitals who go above and beyond the call of duty in providing caring, compassionate, and competent nursing to their patients.

Laura Selway, Johns Hopkins Hospital

Suzanne Concato Preceptor Award, recognizing current preceptors who are committed to mentoring students on a 1:1 basis—providing nursing students the opportunity to assess patients and promoting critical thinking and clinical decision making.

Natashia Vanholten, Bayview Medical Center

Linda Davies Versic Faculty Award, given to a current faculty member who demonstrates excellence in patient care, looks for innovative ways to engage students and peers in local and global community health care programs, and connects with students through nursing organizations and activities. 

Junxin Li, Johns Hopkins School of Nursing

School of Nursing Diversity Award, recognizing staff, faculty, and students for contributions related to the development and celebration of diversity and inclusion through the Johns Hopkins School of Nursing locally and/or globally.

Diana Baptiste, associate professor

Dean’s Award

Eunice and David King

See more at nursing.jhu.edu/stars.

Stay Up-To-Date

Get updates on the latest stories, from hot topics, to faculty research, alumni profiles, and more.

Ways to subscribe