Farley, Sloand, New Dean Join FAAN Ranks

Farley, Sloand, New Dean Join FAAN Ranks

Three more Johns Hopkins School of Nursing researchers have been named fellows of the American Academy of Nursing. Elizabeth Sloand, PhD, RN, PNP-BC, Jason Farley, PhD, MPH, CRNP, and Patricia Davidson, PhD, MEd, RN, will be inducted during the Academy’s 40th annual meeting on October 19 in Washington, DC.

“I have been a nurse for many years and this is truly a personal and professional highlight,” Sloand said.

“Becoming a member of this distinguished group of nurses demonstrates a wonderful recognition of my research, clinical practice, and education in HIV and associated co-infections,” added Farley.

As for Davidson, the FAAN status is one more bonus for the school as she begins her tenure as dean in September. “Trish is visionary, engaging, energetic and articulate,” said Ronald J. Daniels, president of Johns Hopkins University.

The American Academy of Nursing (AAN) includes more than 2,000 nurse leaders in education, management, practice, policy, and research. Its fellows include hospital and government administrators, college deans, and renowned scientific researchers. With this new class, Fellows will represent all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and 19 countries.

“Selection for fellowship in the Academy is one of the most prestigious honors in the field of nursing,” said AAN President Joanne Disch, PhD, RN, FAAN.

Stay Up-To-Date

Get updates on the latest stories, from hot topics, to faculty research, alumni profiles, and more.

Ways to subscribe