Faculty, Student, Staff News

Faculty, Student, Staff News

Faculty, Acute & Chronic Care

Susan Appling, PhD, CRNP, Deborah Finnell, DNS, PMHNP-BC, CARN-AP, FAAN, Karan Kverno, PhD, PMHCNS-BC, PMHNP-BC, Brigit VanGraafeiland, DNP, CRNP, and Diana Baptiste, DNP, RN, are new faculty members in the Department of Acute and Chronic Care.

Anne Belcher, PhD, RN, AOCN, FAAN, ANEF, is serving a two-year term as President of the Oncology Nursing Society (ONS) Foundation. Belcher joined the ONS is 1982 and became President-elect of the Foundation during her first term on the Board of Trustees in 2011.

Elizabeth Sloand, PhD, RN, PNP-BC, FAAN, has been promoted to Associate Professor. Sloand has managed primary care pediatric practices in Haiti and Baltimore, and has taken many students on international medical missions providing direct and preventative care to impoverished families.

Deborah Finnell, DNS, PMHNP-BC, CARN-AP, FAAN, is now Associate Editor for Substance Abuse, the official journal of the Association for Medical Education and Research in Substance Abuse (AMERSA).

Kathleen White, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN, joined Johns Hopkins Vice President for Patient Safety and Quality Peter Pronovost and other Johns Hopkins Medicine safety experts in presenting at the “Creating a Culture of Safety: Best Practices in Implementation Science” conference held in May in Mount Snow, VT.

In June, Pamela Jeffries, PhD, RN, ANEF, FAAN, traveled to Scotland to present “Bringing healthcare professionals together through Intraprofessional Education (IPE)” at the Association for Simulated Practice in Healthcare (ASPiH) Symposium.


Faculty, Department of Community-Public Health

Jeanne Alhusen, PhD, CRNP, Jennifer Stewart, PhD, RN, and Tener Veenema, PhD, MPH, RN, FAAN, are new faculty members in the Department of Community-Public Health.

Sara Groves, DrPH, APRN, BC, received the Outstanding Contributions to Community/Public Health Nursing Education Award at the Association of Community Health Nursing Educators Annual Institute in North Carolina in June.

Tener Veenema, PhD, MPH, RN, FAAN, will be awarded the 2013 Florence Nightingale Medal at a recognition ceremony in October. She was chosen for her active role in disaster situations and public health/nursing education.

Sarah L. Szanton, PhD, CRNP, presented “Fiscal and Policy Implications for Improving Functional Ability: the CAPABLE Program” to the Health and Government Operations Committee in Annapolis in January.

Jacquelyn Campbell, PhD, RN, FAAN, presented research evidence related to domestic violence and homicide at an April workshop in Washington, DC hosted by the National Research Councilís committee of Priorities for a Public Health Research Agenda to Reduce the Threat of Firearm-related Violence.



“Monitor Alarm Fatigue: An Integrative Review,” by DNP 2013 student Maria Cvach, was named the best research paper of 2012 by the BI&T Editorial Board.

PhD student Kyounghae Kim received a $5,000 Sigma Theta Tau International Small Grants award for the study “Uncovering the Links Between Health Literacy and Cervical Cancer Disparity in Korean American Women: A Mixed Methods Study.”

PhD 2013 student Bryan Hansen was selected as a 2013-2015 Patricia G. Archbold Scholar of The National Hartford Centers of Gerontological Nursing Excellence. The award will help him implement a professional development plan and focus on academic leadership in gerontology.

Accelerated 2013 students Marisa Cipolla and Leslie Ham received a $1,000 scholarship from the Edie and Morris Range fund to attend the American Holistic Nurses Association conference in June.

PhD students Yvonne Commodore-Mensah and Katherine Heinze received the JHUSON Professional Development Awardóan award created by Maryann Fralic, DrPH, RN, FAAN to provide financial support to students in the PhD nursing program.

MSN/MPH student Matthew Lindsley, JHU Bloomberg School of Public Health students Stephanie Van Dyke, Nidhi Khurana, and Collin Weinberger, and Homewood students Aaron Chang and Kevin Wang won Best Entry at the 2013 Emory Global Health Case Competition in March for their plan to address worldwide sanitation.

PhD Candidate Jeanne Murphy‘s article “Cervical Cancer Screening in the Era of Human Papillomavirus Testing and Vaccination” was the 2013 recipient of the Journal of Midwifery & Women’s Health Mary Ann Shah New Author Award. Hayley Mark, PhD, MPH, RN, co-authored the article.

MSN/MPH 2013 student Ayla Landry received the Outstanding Graduate Student in Community/Public Health Nursing Award at the at the Association of Community Health Nursing Educators (ACHNE) Annual Institute in North Carolina in June.



Former Instructional Designer Emily Jones took on the newly created position “Emerging Technologies Manager” in Information Technology Services. She leads the evaluation and implementation of emerging higher education technologies such as mobile devices, simulation technology, and electronic health record systems.



PhD Program Administrator Dottie Becraft, Kathleen Becker, DNP, MSN, RN, Academic Affairs Program Manager Marie Brown, DNP Program Administrator Ayzha Corbett, Hayley Mark, PhD, MPH, RN, and Laura Taylor, PhD, RN, received an award at the Johns Hopkins University Diversity Leadership Council’s 2013 Diversity Award Recognition Ceremony for founding the Guiding Initiative for Doctoral Education (GuIDE). Nancy Hodgson, PhD, RN, and Traditional 2013 student Meghan Caracciola presented the poster “Images of Caregiving and Perceptions of Suffering Among Spousal Caregivers of Persons with Dementia” at the March American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine Conference in New Orleans.


Stay Up-To-Date

Get updates on the latest stories, from hot topics, to faculty research, alumni profiles, and more.

Ways to subscribe