Faculty, Student, and Staff News

Faculty, Student, and Staff News

Faculty, Department of Community-Public Health

Kelly Bower, MSN, MPH, RN, completed her doctoral work at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health in the Department of Health Behavior and Society.
Jason Farley, PhD, MPH, CRNP, participated on the panel “Insights from Newly Minted Professionals” at the Institute of Medicine’s 2012 Annual Meeting in Washington, DC on October 15.
Christine Savage, PhD, RN, CARN, FAAN, has been promoted to professor on the practice/education track.
Sarah Szanton, PhD, CRNP, has been promoted to associate professor on the research/education track. She also discussed better living for elders at the Center for Health Policy and Healthcare Transformation Lecture at The Johns Hopkins Hospital on November 20.

Faculty, Acute & Chronic Care

Anne Belcher, PhD, RN, AOCN, ANEF, FAAN, was on a panel “Interprofessionalism in Practice and Education” at the Second Annual Rehabilitation Therapy Services Clinical Showcase on November 1. She also presented “Spirituality and Psychosocial Oncology Care” at the Down to Earth: Bringing spirituality to oncology care workshop in Lutherville, Maryland, and “Humor: A gift to nursing,” at the University of Maryland School of Nursing in November.
Casey Shillam, PhD, RN, has been appointed to assistant professor.
Sharon Kozachik, PhD, RN, presented “Restricted Sleep Increases Paclitaxel-Induced Mechanical Sensitivity in Sprague Dawley Rats” at the Oncology Nursing Society, Advancing Care Through Science conference, November 16-18 in Phoenix, Arizona.
Kathleen White, PhD, RN, CEA-BC, FAAN, won the American Journal of Nursing (AJN) Book of the Year Award in the “Professional Development and Issues” category for her Essential Guide to Nursing Practice: Applying ANA’s Scope and Standards in Practice and Education.


DNP Student Maria Cvach, who serves as assistant director of nursing, clinical standards at The Johns Hopkins Hospital, chaired the comprehensive alarm management initiative that won the 7th Annual Health Devices Achievement Award. The award recognized the team’s exemplary effort in reducing hazardous situations related to alarm systems.
International DNP student Godfrey Katende received an award for “Best Upcoming Researcher Poster Presentation” at the Joint Annual Scientific Health Conference in Kampala, Uganda, September 26–28.


Center for Global Nursing program
manager Rachel Breman presented on
the Sandwich PhD Program at a Global Nursing Caucus in Boston on October 20.
Robert Kearns was appointed to new Instructional Design Manager in December. Kearns has been with the SON for three years and has an extensive background in e-learning, relationship management, and higher education.
Michael Vaughn, Assistant Dean for Information and Technology Integration, conducted a small group of brass players from the Baltimore Symphony Youth Orchestra (BSYO) Concert Orchestra (middle school-level) at the Meyerhoff in late December. The group performed carols during intermission of the BSO Holiday Pops Celebration concert.


Traditional 2013 student Samantha Schneider, graduate students Teresa Pfaff and Theresa Medicus, PhD student Jocelyn Anderson, and Accelerated 2013 students Parmeeth Atwal, Ruth Grossinger, and Falisha Khan represented JHUSON at the mHealth Summit, December 3–5 in Washington, DC.
Students Johannah Butler, Katrina Reiser, and Maria Brown, MSN/MPH,  and faculty Beth Sloand, PhD, RN, PNP-BC, and Phyllis Mason, MS, RN, CANP, joined a 14-member interprofessional healthcare team for a week-long medical mission to rural southwest Haiti in late October. They provided primary care consultations for 150–200 patients each day.
Faculty, staff, and students raised $6,998 for the American Heart Association Heart Walk in October, exceeding their goal of $5,000. Team leaders included Tam Nguyen and Yvonne Commodore-Mensah from the P30 Center, Andrea Parsons Schram, DNP, CRNP, Nancy Goldstein, DNP, MS, APN-BC, RNC, student accounts coordinator Patrice Hamilton, and a group of graduate students.
Faculty members Laura Gitlin, PhD, Nancy Hodgson, PhD, RN, Casey Shillam, PhD, RN, Sarah Szanton, PhD, CRNP, and Accelerated 2012 student Gabrielle Santangelo presented novel ways of intervening to improve the quality of life for older adults living independently or with their families at the Gerontological Society of America 2012 annual conference, November 14–17 in San Diego, California.
Accelerated 2013 students Catherine Shoffner, Clifton Thornton, Matthew Medeiros, Eric Metcalf, Sarah Jones, and Lisa Marie Gerolamo assisted Phyllis Mason, MS, RN, CANP, in administering flu shots for clients at the Johns Hopkins Broadway Center on November 13.
Joan Kub, PhD, MA, PHCNS, BC, and Sara Groves, DrPH, APRN, BC, presented  “Creating Nursing Leaders in Uganda “and “Predictors of depressive symptoms among urban low income African American mothers of children with asthma,” at the 139th meeting of the American Public Health Association (APHA) on November 2–6 in San Francisco.

Savage Appointed Full Professor

Christine Savage, chair of the Community Public-Health Department, has been appointed as full professor. Savage, who has specialized in addiction and substance abuse in the context of public health, uprooted from a dream home in Kentucky one year ago to make her new home at Hopkins.

Hill One of State’s Most Influential

Dean Martha N. Hill, PhD, RN, FAAN, has been chosen by the Daily Record for its 2013 list of 50 Influential Marylanders, which honors individuals who have made truly significant contributions in their fields and continue to be regarded as leaders in the State of Maryland.

Shillam Receives Faculty Fellowship

Assistant professor Casey Shillam, PhD, RN, has received a $20,000 New Nursing Faculty Fellowship grant from the Maryland Higher Education Commission. The Fellowship was established to recognize the skill and willingness of new faculty like Shillam, who joined Johns Hopkins last spring, to begin bridging the nursing gap.

Jeffries Leads International Simulation Organization

Pamela Jeffries, PhD, RN, associate dean for academic affairs, has been named president-elect of the Society for Simulation in Healthcare. She will become president in 2014, just the second nurse to hold this position.

Two New Fellows

Elizabeth Jordan, DNSc, MSN, RNC, FAAN, and Christine Savage, PhD, RN, CARN, FAAN were named fellows of the American Academy of Nursing and inducted at the Academy’s 39th Annual Meeting Conference in Washington, DC, on October 13, 2012.

Stay Up-To-Date

Get updates on the latest stories, from hot topics, to faculty research, alumni profiles, and more.

Ways to subscribe