Faculty, Student, and Staff News

Faculty, Student, and Staff News


Maryann Fralic, DrPH, RN, received the American Organization of Nurse Executives (AONE) 2012 Lifetime Achievement Award on March 22 for her work to shape the future of the nursing profession and cultivate nursing leadership.

Pam Jeffries, PhD, RN, has been named a member of the Institute of Medicine’s Global Forum on Innovation in Health Professional Education. She also co-authored a book, Developing Successful Health Care Education Simulation Centers: The Consortium Model, and a corresponding blog. And with a new $25,000 grant administered by the Foundation of the National Student Nurses’ Association, in cooperation with the Who Will Care? Fund for Nurse Education, she and her team will create four online modules for nurse educators.

Shari Lynn, MSN, RN, and Kathryn Kushto Reese, MSN, RN, gave a poster presentation, “Video, Vimeos, and Mediasites: A Creative, High Impact Teaching Strategy,” at the Institute for Educators in Nursing and Allied Health Professionals conference on March 7.

Hayley Mark, PhD, MPH, RN, gave two days of lectures in April to nurse leaders and staff nurses on the Johns Hopkins model for evidence-based practice at the Avera McKennan Hospital in Sioux Falls, SD.

Phyllis Mason, MS, RN, CANP, won the Harriet Tubman Legacy Award, sponsored by the Black Nurses of Maryland, Gamma Chapter of Chi Eta Phi Sorority, Inc., and the Provident Helene Fuld Nursing Alumni Association, for Adult Health Nursing.

Phyllis Sharps, PhD, RN, CNE, associate dean for Community and Global Programs, and director of the Center for Global Health, is a recipient of the 2012 Hopkins Diversity Leadership Council Diversity Recognition Award.

Julie Stanik-Hutt, PhD, ACNP, CCNS, was elected to a second term as the Maryland State Representative to the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners (AANP).

Casey Shillam, PhD, RN-BC, joins the faculty in the Department of Acute and Chronic Care. “Dr. Shillam has a strong history of commitment to improving the health of older adults through clinical practice, scholarship, and teaching,” says Department chair Marie Nolan, PhD, RN.

Mary Terhaar, DNSc, CNS, RN, provided two days of consultation in April for the Loyola University School of Nursing Doctor of Nursing Practice Program in New Orleans, LA. She focused on assuring quality, rigor, and impact in final scholarly work products.

Jennifer Wenzel, PhD, RN, CCM, received the 2012 Oncology Nursing Society Excellence in Writing Award for Qualitative Nursing Research.


Accelerated students Olivia Svrchek and Lin Chen’s poster about the Isaiah Wellness Center won first place in the School of Nursing’s Community Outreach Program: National Public Health Week Poster Presentation.

Accelerated student Joanna Balza won second place with a poster about the House of Ruth.

DNP student Laura Wood’s invention from her capstone project to improve quality and safety was filmed on March 13 in The Johns Hopkins Hospital’s Weinberg Intensive Care Unit.

Traditional 2013 student Samantha Schneider received the 2012 Promise of Nursing Maryland Scholarship Award through the Foundation of the National Student Nurses’ Association.

The Inspector General’s Office cited DNP student Carrie Kairys’s capstone project as an accomplishment for the West Palm Beach VA Medical Center. Kairys developed a method to identify military women taking medications that could harm a fetus.

Traditional students Felicia Rockko, Amie Scott, Sung Cho, Shanna Dell, Jaclyn Gaede, and Elise Pope attended the National Student Nurses’ Association convention in April. Their resolution to prevent concussion in student athletes was passed with a majority vote.

PhD student Mary Paterno was named a 2012 “Emerging Leader” by the Association of Women’s Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses. The Emerging Leaders Program engages nurses in a formal, year-long leadership training program.

Group Efforts

Jason Farley, PhD, MPH, CRNP, and Hayley Mark, PhD, MPH, RN, presented their work on HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, and sexually transmitted infections at Rutgers College of Nursing on May 10 in New Jersey.

The Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing 2012 Excellence in Teaching Award was awarded to Laura Taylor, PhD, RN (Baccalaureate teaching, right) and Martha Sylvia, PhD, MSN, MBA, RN (Graduate teaching, left) for excellent teaching, mentoring, respectfulness, and encouragement.

Faculty members Julie Stanik-Hutt, PhD, ACNP, CCNS, and Kathleen White, PhD, RN, CEA-BC, won the 2012 Nursing Economic$ Margaret Sovie Writer’s Award for their article, “Advanced Practice Nurse Outcomes 1990-2008: A Systematic Review.”

In a special project celebrating National Nurses Week (May 6 – 12), the Nursing Student Association collected donations, prepared, and shipped care packages for military nurses overseas.

The School’s Office of Teaching Excellence presented three awards to faculty groups:  Diane Aschenbrenner, MS, APRN, BC, RN, and Laura Taylor, PhD, RN; Shawna Mudd, DNP, CPNP-AC, PNP-BC, and Andrea Schram, DNP, CRNP; and Chris Keenan, MSN, RN, Maggie Neal, PhD, RN, Sandy Swoboda, MSN, RN, and Pamela Jeffries, PhD, RN.

The Office of Marketing and Communications’ Happy Holidays E-card won bronze and the Peace Corps Anniversary advertisement won gold in the 27th Annual Educational Advertising Awards. The Johns Hopkins Nursing 2012 Biennial Report won bronze in the Aster Awards.

Three faculty will be inducted as Fellows of the American Academy of Nursing in October:  Sharon Dudley-Brown, PhD, FNP-BC; Elizabeth Jordan, DNSc, RN; and Christine Savage, PhD, RN, CARN

The Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing 2012 Excellence in Teaching Award was awarded to Laura Taylor, PhD, RN, (Baccalaureate teaching, right) and Martha Sylvia, PhD, MSN, MBA, RN (Graduate teaching, left) for excellent teaching, mentoring, respectfulness, and encouragement.

Stay Up-To-Date

Get updates on the latest stories, from hot topics, to faculty research, alumni profiles, and more.

Ways to subscribe