Faculty, Student, and Staff News

Faculty, Student, and Staff News

Congrats to New Academic Leaders

Faculty—Health Systems & Outcomes

Patricia Abbott, PhD, RN, was named to the Health Information Technology Advisory Committee of the National Quality Forum; presented online at Global Pulse 2010; and consulted on eHealth at a European Union’s Ministerial Meeting.

Sarah Szanton, PhD, CRNP, served as a panelist in the first of three ‘Rising to the Challenge’ events, in which JHU alumni met with President Ronald J. Daniels and faculty experts to discuss some of the most pressing challenges of the day.

Kathleen White, PhD, RN, was keynote speaker for the 2010 National Nurse Practitioner Summit and Leadership Conference.

Faculty—Community–Public Health

Kathleen Becker, DNP, RN, completed her Doctor of Nursing Practice degree at the University of Maryland Baltimore County.

Jacquelyn Campbell, PhD, RN, appeared in a news segment about intimate partner violence for WMAR-ABC.

Betty Jordan, DNSc, RN, received a grant for “Birth Companions Services for New Refugees” from the Hopkins Urban Health Institute. In addition, her Birth Companions program is now featured on the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality Innovations Exchange website.

Phyllis Sharps, PhD, RN, is featured on the National Institute of Nursing Research website Research Highlights page for her study, “A randomized controlled community-based trial to improve breastfeeding rates among urban low-income mothers.”

Dan Sheridan, PhD, RN, recently testified about a forensic sexual assault exam he conducted in February 2006. Sheridan had found a perpetrator’s DNA, which helped link a suspect in six reported sexual assault cases.

Elizabeth (Ibby) Tanner, PhD, RN, was invited to help revise the AACN/Hartford Baccalaureate Competencies and Curricular Guidelines for Geriatric Nursing Care.

Nicole Warren, PhD, RN, has been appointed to serve on the National Board of Directors for the National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition.

Patty Wilson, MS, RN, received a grant for “Passport to Health: Taking Charge of Your Health,” a program for survivors of intimate partner violence, from the Hopkins Urban Health Institute.

Faculty—Acute & Chronic Care

Jerilyn Allen, ScD, RN, was elected president of the Preventive Cardiovascular Nurses Association.

Anne Belcher, PhD, RN, presented at Buckley Scholar Day at Adelphi University in New York and at the Sigma Theta Tau International Annual Research Symposium for the Rho Pi Chapter at Shenandoah University in Virginia.

Nancy Goldstein, DNP, RN, completed her Doctor of Nursing Practice degree at the University of Maryland.

Beth Sloand, PhD, CRNP, was a featured speaker at the Maryland Chesapeake Chapter of the National Association of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners meeting.

Julie Stanik-Hutt, PhD, ACNP, served as Summit Chair and presented at the 2010 National Nurse Practitioner Summit and Leadership Conference. She also presented “Safety, Quality and Effectiveness of Care: The Evidence Supporting APN Practice” at the American Association of Critical Care Nurses National Teaching Institute & Critical Care Exposition. Both took place in Washington, DC. She also traveled to Houston, TX to deliver a keynote speech, “Healthcare Reform: How Will it Affect Nurse Practitioners?” at the inaugural Nurse Practitioner Conference for Hospital-Based Nurse Practitioners.


Chris Boyle, JHUSON admissions officer
Chris Boyle, admissions officer, participated in a film created for a new visitors center at Fort McHenry.

Frank Byrd, protective service officer, received a Distinguished Service Award from the International Association for Healthcare Safety and Service.

Lindsay Carroll, baccalaureate program administrator, was honored at a volunteer appreciation tea, sponsored by Baltimore County Public Schools, for giving more than 1,000 hours of community service to Towson High School.

Carol Curtis and Kim Hill, who work in the school’s Center for Nursing Research offices located at 511 North Washington St., responded quickly to a two-alarm house fire that broke out on the 500 block of N. Washington St. in May. When the women discovered the fire, they alerted everyone on their floors to exit the building and helped lead them to safety.

Angelica Evans, special events coordinator, successfully defended her thesis and completed the final requirement for a Master of Arts in Communications degree from the Johns Hopkins Krieger School of Arts & Sciences.

Jonathan Eichberger and Lynn Schultz-Writsel presented “Shaping Your Message for the Media” at the 2010 National Nurse Practitioner Summit and Leadership Conference in Washington, DC.

Kelly Wilson-Fowler received the Dean’s SPOT award, given in recognition of Staff Performing Over the Top, for volunteering to support the school’s Haiti efforts.

The office of Marketing and Communications has been working hard on producing top-notch publications, advertisements, and website content this year. The effort has paid off, and the staff has won four Hermes Creative Awards for creative professionals, two Aster Awards for marketing by healthcare organizations, and one Educational Advertising award.


Courtney Barsotti, Christina Gooding, Charlotte Jones, Meredith Jones, Heather Lavendar, Darcie Stem, Katherine Turcotte, and Mickie Wang—all students in the traditional class of 2010—were featured in The St. Croix Avis for their week on the island of St. Croix visiting schools, hospitals, and clinics.

Nichole Tscheulin, Jessica Silvert, Sarah Lutenski, Susan Zhen, Kelli Murphy, Christiane Garcia, and Uzoma Njemanze organized a health fair for Survivors of intimate partner violence at the House of Ruth. These students from the accelerated class of 2010 provided posters and hands-on demonstrations as part of their Public Health clinical rotation with instructor Sonja Emerson.

Amy Hoffmann ’10, Marcella Leath ’11, Danielle Miller ’11, and Bethany Roth ’11 attended the National Student Nurses Association (NSNA) Annual Convention in Orlando, FL. Miller was elected to the NSNA Board as the Eastern Director. Hopkins students presented a resolution that passed the House of Delegates 66%–34%.

Frank Mataska, accelerated ’10, received a 2010 SOURCE (Student Outreach Resource Center) Community Service Award. The school’s Isaiah Wellness Center Student Team received a student group award, and Sister Bobby English, who serves as a preceptor, was honored with a Community Mentor award.

Graduate student Michelle Stephens was honored for her service as a student representative on the Maryland Chesapeake Chapter of the National Association of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners executive board.

Anna Weichel ’11 and Cecilia Yu ’11 blogged about spending their spring break on a service trip in New Orleans, working in medical units, visiting hospitals and helping to rebuild homes destroyed by Hurricane Katrina.

Stay Up-To-Date

Get updates on the latest stories, from hot topics, to faculty research, alumni profiles, and more.

Ways to subscribe