Faculty, Student, & Staff News




Vaughn to lead technology initiatives

Welcome Back

Meet the New Faculty Leaders


MSN student Brooke Bucci attended a White House healthcare reform press event in September. She joined about 150 nurses representing professional societies such as the, MNA, ANA, SEIU, and AWHONN.

DNP students Lynn Marie Bullock and Lisa Paris, along with faculty member Mary Terhaar, won first prize at the National Nursing Staff Development Conference for their poster “Revolution in New Graduate Orientation.”

MSN/MPH student Kara Franz received a student grant from the Association of Professionals in Infection Control (APIC) to perform a baseline assessment of the administrative, environmental, and personal infection control infrastructure among multi-drug resistant tuberculosis (M(X)DR-TB) Clinics in South Africa.  In June, Franz, along with faculty mentor Jason Farley and PhD student Carrie Tudor, collected data at 10 such hospitals throughout South Africa.

Family Nurse Practitioner students Meghan Greeley and Monica Nandwani received Johnson & Johnson sponsored scholarships to attend the Retail Clinician Education Congress.

Kathryn Ruble has completed her PhD studies and joined the Hopkins medical faculty as an instructor in oncology. She plans to continue her research in late-effects of therapy in cancer survivors and issues related to cancer survivorship.

MSN/MBA student Liz Scala is the first Hopkins nursing student to apply and be accepted to the Carey Augsberg-International Project, an international competitive strategy course that is part of the Johns Hopkins Carey Business School MBA program.

Seth Taylor ’10 received a MidAtlantic Cardiovascular Foundation Scholarship.  


The Blackboard Team–George Anagnostou, Matt Chin, Theron Feist, Frank Hoey, Emily Jones, and Devin Wilson–have successfully conducted 19 training sessions, trained 58 of 66 faculty (88%) and 34 administrative staff, and migrated 230 (100%) courses to the new platform.

The staff of Johns Hopkins Nursing magazine has received the prestigious Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI) 2009 Award for Nursing Print Media.

Faculty, department of community health

Joan Kub, PhD, APHN, BC was elected as a Northern Member at Large for the Association of Community Health Nursing Educators (ACHNE) for 2009-2011. She was also selected as a fellow of the AACN Leadership for Academic Nursing Program.Faculty, department of health systems and outcomes
Patti Abbott, PhD, RN, BC, FAAN, FACMI, and Laura Taylor, PhD, RN, presented “Combining Science and Wisdom: Bringing Evidence-Based Practice into Nursing Education,” at the 10th International Congress on Nursing Informatics in Helsinki, Finland.

Sarah Szanton, PhD, CRNP, received a 2009-2011 John A. Hartford Foundation Claire M. Fagin Fellowship in geriatric nursing research to study how chronic stress affects the health of older adults.

Faculty, department of acute and chronic care
Anne Belcher, PhD, RN, AOCN, CNE, FAAN, presented “Religious and Spiritual Perspectives Among Clients in a Mental Health Day Care Setting” and “Spiritual Care: Scope of the Issue” at the 2nd Annual Meeting of The Society for Spirituality, Theology and Health at Duke University.

Faculty member Sharon Kozachik, PhD, RN, has received the 2009 Oncology Nursing Society (ONS) Foundation Research Grant for “Sleep, HPA Axis Activity, and Paclitaxel-Induced Neuropathic Pain.”

Rosemary Mortimer, MEd, MSN, RN, attended a White House healthcare reform press event in September. She joined about 150 nurses representing professional societies such as the, MNA, ANA, SEIU, and AWHONN.

Sharon Olsen, PhD, RN, AOCN, received her PhD–and the Janet Rexrode Southby Prize in Nursing Research–from the Catholic University of America in Washington, DC.

Vaughn to lead technology initiatives

As the inaugural assistant dean for information and technology integration, Michael Vaughn, MS, came on board in November to lead the school’s strategic, operational, and innovative technological initiatives, such as real-time simulations involving manikins and online courses. 

Vaughn brings 12 years of experience leading the integration of technology into health education, research, and practice. He comes to Johns Hopkins from Indiana University, where he pioneered the introduction of many cutting-edge technologies, including the first school-wide implementation of a course management system in 1997, implementation of a fully distance-accessible option for the PhD program utilizing sophisticated web conferencing technologies, and the construction of a state-of-the-art clinical simulation facility. He was also instrumental in establishing the IU School of Nursing Lifelong Learning department as a global provider of online continuing education offerings, reaching over 1,500 individuals annually.

 “It is a tremendous opportunity for me to become part of the Johns Hopkins tradition with a school whose star is rising,” Vaughn said about his new position. “I am excited to work with faculty, students and practice providers to take full advantage of technology to improve healthcare and healthcare education.”

Welcome Back

Alumnae Nicole Warren ’98, PhD, MPH, CNM, and Sharon Kozachik, PhD ’06, RN who returned to their scholarly roots this fall as faculty members at Hopkins. Kozachik has joined the Department of Acute and Chronic Care, and Warren is faculty in the Department of Community Public Health.

Meet the New Faculty Leaders

Congratulations to our new directors and chairpersons for the baccalaureate, master’s, and doctoral programs:

Cheryl Dennison, PhD, RN, ANP, PhD Admissions and Progressions Committee Chair

Linda Gerson, PhD, RN, APRN, BC, Baccalaureate Admissions and Progressions Committee Chair

Susan Immelt, PhD, RN, Baccalaureate Curriculum Revision Committee Chair

Sarah “Jodi” Shaefer, PhD, RN, Baccalaureate Curriculum Chair

Daniel Sheridan, PhD, RN, FAAN, DNP Curriculum Chair

Julie Stanik-Hutt, PhD, ACNP, CCNS, MSN Program Director

Jo Walrath, PhD, MS, RN, Baccalaureate Program Director

Stay Up-To-Date

Get updates on the latest stories, from hot topics, to faculty research, alumni profiles, and more.

Ways to subscribe