Faculty, Staff and Student News

Department of Acute and Chronic Care

Anne Belcher, PhD, RN, AOCN, FAAN was featured in The Business of Caring newsletter for her expertise in using humor to make a connection and build a sense of community.

Department Chair Fannie Gaston-Johansson, PhD, RN, FAAN presented at The National Conference on African Americans and Cancer in Wilmington, DE last October. She has also received a subcontract from Winston-Salem State University’s newly established Exploratory Research Center of Excellence to study African American women with breast cancer undergoing chemotherapy.

Rosemary Mortimer, MS, MEd, RN was installed as the new president of the Maryland Nurses Association on October 19, 2007.

Department of Community Public Health

Jackie Campbell, PhD, RN, FAAN; Nancy Glass, PhD, MPH, RN; Joan Kub, PhD, APRN, BC; Benita Walton-Moss, DNS, RNCS, FNP; and Phyllis Sharps, PhD, RN, FAAN presented papers at the 15th annual Nursing Network on Violence Against Women International Conference, held in Ontario last October.

Hae-Ra Han, PhD, RN and Miyong Kim, PhD, RN, FAAN won this year’s Best Published Paper Award from the Asian Pacific Islander Caucus.

Betty Jordan, DNSc, RNC was the spokesperson for the Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies initiative at National Press Club conference in Washington, DC.

The Birth Companions Program, under the direction of Betty Jordan, DNSc, RNC and Shirley Van Zandt, MS, MPH, CRNP, RN, was again selected as one of six finalists for the Sixteenth Annual Monroe E. Trout Premier Cares Award.

Miyong Kim, PhD, RN, FAAN was awarded the Alumni Association Recognition Award from the University of Arizona School of Nursing. She has also been asked to serve on a Search Committee for the new head of the Johns Hopkins Medicine Division of Geriatrics and Clinical Gerontology.

Dan Sheridan, PhD, RN, FNE-A, SANE-A, FAAN received a grant from the Governor’s Office of Crime Control and Prevention (GOCCP) to support three forensic nurse examiner courses, including one in March 2008 at Hopkins. He has also recently passed the Sexual Assault Nurse Exam-iner Certification Examination.

Health Systems and Outcomes Faculty

Patricia Abbott, PhD, RN, BC, FAAN will chair the 11th International Congress on Nursing Informatics in June 2012. She has recently presented at the National Press Club in Washington, DC and the First Annual Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) Conference.

Maryann F. Fralic, DrPH, RN, FAAN, has been named Interim Chair of the Department of Health Systems and Outcomes. She was recently featured in two Baltimore Business Journal articles on the post-baccalaureate and post-master’s Business of Nursing options.

Dean Martha N. Hill, PhD, RN, FAAN has been elected to serve on the Institute of Medicine’s governing Council for a term extending from January 2008 through December 2010.

Cynda Rushton, PhD, RN, FAAN has been named an “Edge Runner” by the Ameri-can Academy of Nursing in recognition of her role as Program Director of the Harriet Lane Compas-sionate Care (HLCC) Program.


Twenty students from the accelerated class of 2008 have been selected for the school’s Fuld Leadership Fellows Program in Clinical Nursing: Claire Alano, Alison Anderson, Samantha Boaz, Lori Bowermaster, Anne Cavett, Kristin DelleDonne, Bonnie Dowling, Laura Gigante, Kristin Erekson, Meghan Greeley, Nicole Holuba, Pamela Homiak, Shannon McDonnell, Lyndsay Murray, Lisa Nagy, Katy Olive, Nancy Osborne, Anthony Pho, Megan Shepter, and James Small.

In October, accelerated 2008 students Ashley Beam, Meagan Fritzler, and Nicole Baur raised over $700 and rode 66 miles in the “Start to Finish MS” bike tour in New York City.

Master’s student Nancy Niesz Funk, PhD, RN, presented “Psychopharmacology Update for Psychologists” at the Baltimore Psycho-logical Association.

Amy Goh ’09 is one of 11 Hopkins students to receive the Center for Global Health Framework Program Award to conduct global health research and practice.

Aliza Krebs, an MSN student in the Family NP program, was one of 100 people asked by Baltimore Magazine to predict the future-both for themselves and for Baltimore-to help celebrate 100 years of publication.

Master’s student Maureen Lal was featured in a Frederick News-Post story on the great job she has (and does) at Frederick Memorial Hospital.

SGA President Brian Miner ’08 spurred classmates to legislative action. Nursing students made telephone calls to eight key Maryland legislators to tell them how important the state-funded Sellinger Aid Program is to their nursing education.

Team Efforts

Linda Blankenship, Registrar, has been chosen to serve as the interim Chairperson of the SON Essentials Steering Committee. Other elected members include Angela Melton, Brenda Smaw, Winter Backmon (Members-at-Large) and Debra Race (Secretary).

The American Nurses Creden-tialing Center (ANCC) 2007 Valor in Nursing Award was presented to Gladys Mouro, MSN, RN and the nurses of the American University of Beirut Medical Center (AUBMC), which partici-pates in a formal academic collaboration with the SON. Congratulations to all the Hopkins Nurses who presented at the Sigma Theta Tau 39th Biennial Convention in Baltimore, November 3-7: Patti Abbott, Jeri Allen, Diane Aschenbrenner, Anne Belcher, Barbara Anne Biedrzycki, Jackie Campbell, Cyndi Carbo, Linda Gerson, Kathleen Griffith, Hae-Ra Han, Jennifer Hatzfeld, Elizabeth Hill, Martha Hill, Janice Hoffman, Megan Hoffmann, Krysia Hudson, Susan Immelt, Betty Jordan, Miyong Kim, Joan Kub, Yang Li, Katherine Nash, Marie Nolan, Linda Rose, Sarah Shaefer, JingJing Shang, Phyllis Sharps, Julie Stanik-Hutt, Sarah Szanton, Ibby Tanner, Benita Walton-Moss, Jennifer Wenzel, Kathi White, Nancy Woods, and Lai Wong.

As part of the Matrix Project, SON staff members have worked for years to implement new computer modules for SON Admissions, Financial Aid, Student Billing, and Records & Registration. Kudos to Sylvia Lee, Kristina Guanzon, Flora Wharton, Elaine Bryant, Phyllis Wilcox, Linda Blankenship, Libby Miles, Nicole Blake, Winter Backmon, Amy Wisowaty, Patrice Hamilton, Tom Knowlden, Colleen Hughes, and Amanda Pflaumer.

Stay Up-To-Date

Get updates on the latest stories, from hot topics, to faculty research, alumni profiles, and more.

Ways to subscribe