Faculty News

Faculty News

Marion Ball, Ed

Marion Ball, EdD, presented two workshops in London as part of the eHealth Conference, “Clinical Information Systems and Electronic Records and eHealth 2005.”

Jacquelyn Campbell, PhD, RN, FAAN, received the American Society of Criminology Vollmer Award for her research scholarship that has contributed to justice and prevention of criminal or delinquent behavior. The Vollmer Award is one of the most prestigious presented by the ASC.

Maryann Fralic, RN, DrPH, FAAN, was elected president of the Friends of the National Institute of Nursing Research at their 2005 annual meeting. She also visited the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, at the request of the chair of the Department of Nursing. She presented to the senior nursing administrative team at Mayo on the topic of “The Agile Nurse Executive.”

Jacquelyn Campbell, PhD, RN, FAAN

Maryann Fralic, Vicki Mock, and Gayle Page have been elected members at large of the 2005 Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing Academic Council. Marie Nolan will now serve on the Academic Council as SON Faculty Senate chair-elect.

Fannie Gaston-Johansson, Dr.Med.Sc., RN, FAAN, presented the first Health Disparities Award to Delegate Shirley Nathan-Pulliam at the 2nd Annual Johns Hopkins Institutions Diversity Leadership Council Diversity Conference.

Dean Martha N. Hill, PhD, RN, FAAN, was presented an honorary doctorate on behalf of the University of Gothenborg, Sweden, by Fannie Gaston-Johansson in November. Dean Hill received the honorary degree, a ring, and a black top hat for her outstanding contributions to science and the discipline of nursing.

Miyong Kim, PhD, RN, FAAN, presented at the CANS Program “Clinical Intervention Research to Improve Health,” October 9-10, in Washington DC. Topics discussed at her panel session were key methodological challenges with sampling, design integrity, recruitment, retention, and analysis.

Robin Newhouse, Sandra Dearholt, Stephanie Poe, Linda Pugh, and Kathleen White were awarded the Research Utilization Award for the Johns Hopkins University Evidence-Based Practice Model and Guidelines at the 38th Sigma Theta Tau International Biennial Convention Tribute Awards Luncheon.

Faculty on the Move

The School of Nursing welcomes visiting faculty member Jennifer Wenzel, PhD, RN, CCM. Wenzel is the project coordinator for the Center for Collaborative Intervention Research. She will be co-teaching the course Philosophical, Theoretical and Ethical Basis of Advanced Practice Nursing with Cynda Rushton. She comes to the school from the University of Virginia.

A fond farewell to departing assistant professor Theresa Yeo, MSN.


Stay Up-To-Date

Get updates on the latest stories, from hot topics, to faculty research, alumni profiles, and more.

Ways to subscribe