Faculty and students from the Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing (JHUSON) receive appointments promotions, and awards, while telling the world about their work through publications, television, radio, and presentations.

Promoted and Appointed

Deborah Finnell, DNS, RN, PMHNP-BC, CARN-AP, FAAN, was promoted to Associate Professor on the Practice Track in the Department of Acute and Chronic Care. In the Department of Community-Public Health, Tener Goodwin Veenema, PhD, MPH, RN, FAAN, was promoted to Associate Professor on the Practice Track and Ellen Ray, DNP, CNM, RN, and Jeanne Alhusen, PhD, CRNP, RN, to Assistant Professors on the Practice Track.

Cynda Rushton, PhD, RN, FAAN, has been appointed to the American Nurses Association (ANA) Advisory Committee revising the ANA Code of Ethics for Nurses. She will help provide feedback, additional information, and advice to the steering committee.

Promoting the role of nurses and creating links between clinical and research settings, Cheryl Dennison Himmelfarb, PhD, RN, ANP, FAAN, will serve as the Embedded Researcher in Patient Safety Operations for the Armstrong Institute for Patient Safety and Quality.

Deserving Congratulations

Senior Research Nurse Sandy Swoboda is the 2014 recipient of the Society of Critical Care Medicine Norma J. Shoemaker Award for Critical Care Nursing Excellence.

PhD Candidate Jiayun Xu received an $84,464 pre-doctoral training grant from the National Institutes of Health to study heat failure decision making before re-hospitalization. Xu also received a $5,000 American Nurses Foundation (ANF) grant for her dissertation work on geriatrics, chronic disease, and transitions of care.

An interdisciplinary team member studying Sexually Transmitted Disease (STDs) prevention, Hayley Mark, PhD, MPH, RN, received another five years of funding from the Center for Disease Control (CDC).

Dean-designate Patricia Davidson, PhD, Med, RN, will receive the 2013 Outstanding Alumni award from her alma mater The University of Wollongong (Australia) at the inaugural Wollongong Fellowships and Alumni Awards dinner on December 5.

PhD Candidate Jocelyn Anderson won a $5,000 Tylenol Future Care Scholarship for her admirable balance between academic excellence, leadership, and community involvement in caring for others.

Laura N. Gitlin, PhD, is co-investigator of a new $324,000 two year grant from the NIH to fund the project “Mechanisms of Intervention Impact for Diverse Dementia Caregiving Populations,” in collaboration with Dr. David Roth, Principal investigator and Director of the Center for Aging and Health.

At the Inaugural Joint Maryland Public Health Association & Metropolitan Washington Public Health Association Conference, Accelerated student Gena Craemer won third prize in the Dr. Donald O. Fedder Graduate Student Poster Competition for her poster “In Sickness and in Health.”

Laura Taylor, PhD, RN, Clinical Instructor Nasreen Bahreman, Accelerated students Jolene Valdez, Elizabeth Murphy, Holly Newbold, Laine Needham, JHH Nurse Clinician Christa Oakes, and School of Medicine Professor Dorry Segev won Best Abstract Award at the 22nd Annual International Transplant Nurses Society Symposium. Their presentation was titled “Information Technology: Addressing Barriers in Living Kidney Donation with Education and Social Support for Donor Candidates and their Family Caregivers.”

In Print

The fourth edition of Successful Grant Writing by Laura N. Gitlin, PhD, and Kevin Lyons, published this month, includes updated information on NIH application processes and greater emphasis on interprofessional and team approaches to science.

Joan Kub, PhD, MA, PHCNS, BC, served  on the  expert  workgroup  for the revision of the American Nurses Association’s (ANA) Public Health Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice. The second edition, just recently published, provides educators, students, and researchers with standards and competencies for public health nursing. It also guides public health registered nurses in the application of  their professional skills and responsibilities.

On the Air

Jacquelyn Campbell, PhD, RN, FAAN, Sarah L. Szanton, PhD, CRNP, and Laura N. Gitlin, PhD, took their research to the public. Interviewed on ABC2 news after a college shooting, Campbell talked about the dangerous period one experiences after leaving a domestic abuser. On the CBS Evening News, Szanton discussed preventive care that can be taken to keep elders in their homes longer, and on WHYY 90.9 FM, Gitlin discussed challenging behaviors of adults with dementia.


  • Diana Baptiste, DNP, RN, and Laura Taylor, PhD, RN—“Self-Care Management and Heart Failure Education: A Nurse-Guided Intervention” at the 2013 National Doctors of Nursing Practice Conference in Arizona.
  • Pamela Jeffries, PhD, RN, ANEF, FAAN—“Changing the Way We Educate: Workforce Expectations and Changing Healthcare Systems” and “A Simulation-Based Curriculum: The Essentials” at the 6th Annual Healthcare Simulation Conference.
  • Sarah L. Szanton, PhD, CRNP—“Seeking to Bend the Cost Curve by Applying Lessons Learned in Practice: The CAPABLE Project” at the University of Maryland School of Nursing Millicent Geare Edmunds Lecture.