Skip Navigation

Hopkins Nursing Events COVID-19 Webinar Series by Global Tracheostomy Collaborative and Sigma Nu Beta Chapter Reminder

COVID-19 Webinar Series by Global Tracheostomy Collaborative and Sigma Nu Beta Chapter Reminder

Date/Time:
Wed. Jul 29, 2020 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Location:
Online
Details:

Of the 12.8 million documented COVID-19 cases, approximately 14% of individuals are associated with severe lung injury requiring oxygen and mechanical ventilation; many of these patients require a tracheostomy. With high-quality, interdisciplinary care, patients are surviving the critical illness but encounter a new set of challenges as they transition back to the community. Dr. Michael Brenner from University of Michigan and I will be hosting a webinar through Global Tracheostomy Collaborative with the support of Sigma Nu Beta at-Large Chapter that will familiarize participants with the underappreciated entity of Post-Intensive Care Syndrome (PICS). It will focus on strategies to prepare patients for a successful discharge. We bring together perspectives from an array of disciplines, explaining rehabilitation interventions that address physical, cognitive and swallow impairments. These strategies collectively can both structure the patient journey to health and reduce the risk of readmission.

 

Title:

From Critical Illness to Health: Interdisciplinary Rehabilitation Strategies to Enhance COVID-19 Recovery

 

Time:

New York, USA Wed, Jul 29, 2020 at 4:00 pm EDT

Palo Alto, USA Wed, Jul 29, 2020 at 1:00 pm PDT

Melbourne, Australia Thu, Jul 30, 2020 at 6:00 am AEST

Chicago, USA Wed, Jul 29, 2020 at 3:00 pm CDT

London, United Kingdom Wed, Jul 29, 2020 at 9:00 pm BST

 

Moderators:

 

Amy Freeman-Sanderson, PhD, BAppSc, Speech Path, University of Technology Sydney

Vinciya Pandian, PhD, MBA, MSN, RN, ACNP-BC, FAANP, FAAN, Johns Hopkins University

Michael Brenner, MD, FACS, University of Michigan and President, Global Tracheostomy Collaborative

 

Objectives:

 

  1. Define post-intensive care syndrome (PICS) in the COVID-19 era
  2. Optimize recovery of patients recovering from COVID-19 and reduce disability
  3. Facilitate early and safe discharge strategies that ensure continuity of care
  4. Describe how interdisciplinary plans can reduce readmissions and promote ongoing recovery

 

Speakers:

 

Aanushua Gupta, GP

COVID-19, ECMO, and Tracheostomy Survivor, Manchester, United Kingdom

 

Ann M. Parker, MD, PhD

Assistant Professor, Pulmonary Critical Care Medicine, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, Baltimore, United States

 

Barbara Bonvento, MSc. Physio

Wythenshawe Hospital, Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust, National Tracheostomy Safety Project, Manchester, United Kingdom

 

Sarah Wallace, MSc. SLT

Consultant Speech and Language Therapist

Wythenshawe Hospital, Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust, National Tracheostomy Safety Project, Manchester, United Kingdom

 

Linda L. Morris, PhD, APN, CCNS, FCCM

Associate Professor, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine; Shirley Ryan AbilityLab, Chicago, Illinois, United States

 

Emily P. Brigham, MD, MHS

Assistant Professor, Pulmonary Critical Care Medicine, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, Baltimore, United States

 

*:
*:
: